Honors In Communication

All communication majors with a major GPA of 3.8 or higher at the conclusion of the fall semester of their senior year are eligible for honors. To obtain honors, eligible students can select a paper that they have already written for a previous communication class and revise that paper under the direction of a faculty member. The finished product should be a 15-20 page paper that is then submitted it to the UGC for acceptance.

Alternately, students may opt to present a creative project produced in a 300-level production class.  Papers or projects will then be presented to the faculty and students present at the end-of-the-year awards banquet.

The process for receiving honors thus begins at the conclusion of the fall semester of senior year when eligible students are notified about honors. Eligible students who are interested are then required to declare honors by the week before the last add/drop day; to select a paper or creative work; and to select a faculty member to work with. Once the student submits the final version of the paper or creative work to the UGC and is notified whether the work has been accepted by the committee, the students present the work at the Communication Department awards ceremony.

Honors in Communication 2014

Richard Min

Catherine Orr

Lauren Hogan

Hillary Burns

Elizabeth Law

Joshua Beasley

Kirstyn Scott

Amy Shackelford

Honors in Communication 2013

Sydney Danforth Diana

Cecile Joy Vocelle

Elise Marie Pacicco

Mary Katherine Stuart

SheRea Talibah DelSol

Honors in Communication 2012

 Jessie Ammons

Syril Smith

Adair Mayer

Andrea Mika Ike

Kelsey Lee Markovich

Ellen Dicus