National Honors in Communication


is the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association (NCA). As an accredited member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS), Lambda Pi Eta has nearly 300 active chapters at colleges and universities worldwide

Lambda Pi Eta was founded in 1985 at the University of Arkansas. Lambda Pi Eta became a part of the National Communication Association (NCA) in 1988, and the official honor society of the NCA in July 1995.

Lambda Pi Eta represents what Aristotle described in his book, Rhetoric, as the three ingredients of persuasion: Logos (Lambda) meaning logic, Pathos (Pi) relating to emotion, and Ethos (Eta) defined as character credibility and ethics.


Recognize, foster, and reward outstanding scholastic achievement;

stimulate interest in the field of communication;

Promote and encourage professional development among communication majors;

provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas about the field;

Establish and maintain close relationships and understanding between faculty and students; and

Explore options for further graduate studies.

 Lambda Pi Eta officers for 2013-2014

President: Kristen Rogers
Vice President: Emily Colby
Treasurer: Harmony Morkve
Secretary/Reporter: Kerrigan O’Malley
Student Representative: Abby Rainer


 Lambda Pi Eta inductees for 2013-2014

Taylor Adams

Jillian Anzalone

Josh Beasley

Kaitlin Bilby

Carolyn Bogle

Sara Brescia

Emily Colby

Carrie Cowan

Sherea Delsol

Paige Emerson

Anne Feuss

Cassidy Forman

Charles Frankel

Emily Frey

Amanda Hoecker

Bess Hoskins

Yoojin Jennifer Kim

Annie Johnson

Megan Lavelle

Megan Lesser

Kevin McGraw

Amanda Mezer

Kerrigan O’Malley

Aubrey Peterson

Chloe Potash

Celia Quillian

Mary Katherine Raffaniello

Abby Rainer

Kristen Rogers

Kendall Selverian

Helen Sidebotham

Amy Shackelford

Blake Shue

Katie Stuart

James Travis

Joseph Vastola

Katie Winokur