Sajant Anand receives UPE/ACM Scholarship Award

Sajant Anand has been named one of the recipients of the UPE/ACM Scholarship Award. About the award: UPE and the ACM wish to encourage academic excellence for students in the computing and information disciplines. UPE initiated this award with ACM in order to raise the importance of academic achievement and professional commitment to ACM student […]

CSC Colloquium: Monday, November 27, 4pm

  On Monday, November 27, Professor Diego Burgos, Associate Professor of Spanish, Department of Spanish and Italian, Wake Forest University, will present: From Words to Feelings: A Journey to Opinion Mining Have you ever ended up feeling supportive or opposing of public figures or policies after reading the news? Such scenario of persuasiveness is not […]

Deacon Profile: Smiti Kaul

Junior Smiti Kaul, a double major in computer science and mathematics, recieved the Grace Hopper Conference scholarship and attended the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing in early October. This conference is the largest gathering of women technologists, with over 18,000 attendees from over 85 countries and across all disciplines and careers. When did […]

Introduction to AWS Lambda

  The local Python user’s group meets here each month.  The talk next week (6pm, Tuesday, 10/24) may be of broad interest. Main Talk: ” Introduction to AWS Lambda” by Andres Silva Abstract: AWS Lambda is a compute service that runs your code in response to events and automatically manages the compute resources for you, making it […]


We will look at the history of the Industrial Internet of Things and the growing market it entails. We will look at the economics and advantages of the connected factories and communities as well as the challenges they will face. We will look at the building blocks of the IIoT including connectivity and infrastructure. For […]

Special WFU Physics Seminar

TITLE: “Quantum Information Science” SPEAKER: Jaewan Kim Korea Institute for Advanced Study TIME: Monday, October 16, 2017, at 3:00pm PLACE: Olin 101 There will be a reception with refreshments at 2:30 PM in the lounge. All interested persons are cordially invited to attend. ABSTRACT Digital information technology is built on two pillars; mathematics and information theory for operating systems and […]

Thinking of Applying to Graduate School in Computer Science?

Dr. Errin Fulp will present this Thursday at 4pm in  Manchester Hall 241 Title:  Thinking of Applying to Graduate School in Computer Science? Abstract:  In many computer science areas obtaining a graduate degree will increase your range of employment options and improve your earnings. However, graduate school is a big commitment and is not right for everyone. During […]

Sajant Anand Awarded a UPE Scholarship

2017 Scholarship Awards Each year the Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon evaluates a large number of scholarship applications from students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. All scholarship applicants are required to complete a comprehensive application form including a statement on their long-term plans in the profession, a summary of their contributions to […]