Sawyer Prize

The John W. Sawyer Prize in Computer Science

In 1993, the department of mathematics and computer science established the John W. Sawyer Prize in Computer Science, which is awarded in his honor annually to a senior.

Dr. John Wesley “Jack” Sawyer received his bachelor’s degree (1938) and MA (1941) from Wake Forest, and his Ph.D from the University of Missouri in 1951. He returned to Wake Forest to join the Math department in 1956, the year Wake moved to Winston-Salem. His consulting work for Reynolds Tobacco beginning in the 1950‘s led to some of the earlier practical applications of operations research in business, which in turn led to his induction as a Fellow AAAS. He was instrumental in bringing computing and computer instruction into the Wake Forest curriculum. He was inducted into the Wake Forest Sports Hall of Fame for his service to Wake Forest Athletics and to intercollegiate athletics in general. He was Faculty Athletic Representative to the NCAA for Wake Forest for 28 years, and served as President of the Atlantic Coast Conference four times and as an NCAA vice-president after extensive work on multiple NCAA committees. Jack Sawyer died in his sleep on July 13, 2013.  He was 95.

The John W. Sawyer Prize in Computer Science Recipients

1994              Michael Byron Graham

1995              Boyanka Atanassova Radenska

1996              No Recipient

1997              Brian Lawrence Dimmick

1998              David Theon Marshburn, II

1999              Keeley Patricia Chorn

2000              Justin Andrew Hayes

2001              Jason Paul Rajtar

2002              Mason Fox Matthews

2003              Patrick Stuart Wheeler

2004              Jeffrey Stephen Shirley

2005              Joseph Victor Antrosio

2006              Emily Nicole Leonhardt

2007              Todd Andrew Ramsey

2008              Patrick James Kruse

2009              Thomas Andrew Davis

2010              Matthew Ryan Steen

2011              Rachel Ann Black

2012              Richard Gabriel Freedman

2013              Gavin Douglas Borg

2014              Benjamin Maxwell Walsh

2015              Riana Jordan Freedman

2016              Shelby Lena Lockhart

2017              Matthew Robert McNiece

2018             Sajant Anand and Ruidan Li