STEM at Wake

Posted on: April 14, 2014

The Department of Education co-sponsored the STEM at Wake program on April 9 and 10, 2014.  This program brought in local high school juniors and also high school seniors already accepted to Wake.  Students toured science, math, and computer science labs and were encouraged to pursue STEM studies and STEM careers.  Dr. Leah McCoy participated […]

Related News:

Price Receives Dissertation Award

Posted on: April 14, 2014

Dr. Geoff Price with his advisor and dissertation chair at the University of Alabama.

Dr. Geoff Price, Visiting Assistant Professor of Instructional Technology, received the M. Ray Loree Most Outstanding Dissertation Award during an Honors Day ceremony on April 4, 2014 at The University of Alabama. Dr. Price’s dissertation, Determining the Impact of the Integrated Triadic Model on TPACK Development in Preservice Teachers, examined how learning experiences in a […]

Related News:

2014 Hall Award Winners

Posted on: April 9, 2014

The Department of Education’s 2014 Jerry A. Hall Award recipients are Jatnna Acosta (Elementary Education), Troi Hicks (Secondary Social Studies) and Kathryn Norcross (Secondary Math). The awards are given each year for excellence in student teaching. The presentation will be at the College Honors and Awards Ceremony to be held on Sunday, May 18th at […]

Related News:

Morgan O’Leary, Kelsey Rector, and Alec Wasilewski Receive the 2014 Memory Scholarship

Posted on: March 27, 2014

Professor Jasper L. Memory, Jr., served Wake Forest University from 1929 until 1971, completing his career as Chairman of the Department of Education.   To honor Professor Memory and to further the cause of education, his family and friends created a scholarship fund. Scholarships are awarded each year to Junior students in the Department of […]

Related News:

“A Model Education”

Posted on: March 25, 2014

From a recent article in Wake Forest Magazine: Cecilia Silva (’74) builds bilingual school in Argentina based on Wake Forest A coastal city in Argentina may seem an unlikely place for a private school modeled on Wake Forest. But Cecilia Rapela Silva (’74) has built a thriving school in her native country based on what […]

Related News:

English Education Student Receives Richter Scholarship to Engage in Research in Europe

Posted on: March 24, 2014

Andrew Waszkowski, a graduate student in English education, was recently awarded a Richter Scholarship from WFU’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. This summer, Andrew will be conducting research on positive classroom community formation in various multicultural international schools in France, Germany, and Belgium. For more information, see Andrew’s abstract below. Today’s educators face the […]

Related News:

After School Program Uses Sports To Help High School Students Build Essential Literacy Skills

Posted on: March 18, 2014

A recent article by the WFU News Center highlights a weekly after-school sports literacy program led by Dr. Alan Brown, Assistant Professor of English Education, and Jordan Daniels, a graduate student in English education. This program takes place at Southwest Guilford High School in High Point, North Carolina, and utilizes sports-related young adult literature to […]

Related News:

Alumnus Leslie Baldwin Named One of Triad’s Top 40 Leaders Under Forty

Posted on: February 25, 2014

Headshot of Leslie Baldwin

Alumnus of the Department of Education Leslie Baldwin was named as one of the The Business Journal’s Top 40 Leaders Under Forty for 2014. Leslie is the Foriegn Language Program Specialist for Winston Salem/Forsyth County Schools and has done a lot for the Department of Education at Wake Forest University since she graduated.  She is […]

Related News:

Department of Education Launches New Minor at Careers in Education Symposium

Posted on: February 18, 2014

The Department of Education is pleased to invite you to the launch of their new minor in “Schools, Education, and Society” at the Careers in Education Symposium on Wednesday, February 26th, from 4-5:30 in Tribble Hall, room B216. Join us and learn how this program can provide a pathway to various careers in the field […]

Related News:

Alumni Receive Professional Development Support Funds for 2014

Posted on: February 11, 2014

The Beginning Teacher Professional Development Support Fund provides professional development grants to first year teachers who completed the Teacher Education Program at Wake Forest University.  Funds assist with Books, Conferences, Field Trips, Speakers, Teaching Supplies, Technology, Webinars and Workshops.   This year’s award recipients were: Natalie Hartmann (Elementary Education), Meagan Hoglund (Elementary Education), Caitlin Boone (Secondary […]

Related News: