Alumni Well Represented at 2013 FLANC Conference


The 2013 annual conference of the Foreign Language Association of North Carolina was held in Winston-Salem, October 11-12. Ten alumni of WFU were presenters: Ellen Bailey (1995), Erin Bolden West (1998), Leslie Baldwin (1999), Krishauna Hines-Gaither (2003), Laura Levi Alstaedter (2005), Amy Talley (2006), Ashley Velazquez (2008), Greg Williams (2009), Maggie Pursley (2010), Sophie Bauers […]

Sam Best and Kara Gaynor Receive Richter Scholarships

Combined photos of Kara Gaynor and Sam Best, 2013 Richter Scholarship recipients

Sam Best, sophomore and Secondary English Education minor, is traveling to China this summer to investigate the potential impacts of “the knowledge economy” on 21st century education. While in China, he will spend the majority of his time as a participant-observer at the Wake Forest Summer Academy in Nanjing. Sam will participate as a co-teacher, […]

2013 Jerry A. Hall Award Recipients


  The Education Department’s 2013 Jerry A. Hall Award recipients are Virginia McMillian (Elementary Education)  and  Tiffany Newsome (Secondary English Education).  The awards are given each year for excellence in student teaching. The presentation will be at the College Honors and Awards Ceremony to be held on Sunday, May 19th at 2:00 p.m. in Brendle […]

Monica Doyle (MTF, ’11) Named Rookie Teacher of the Year

Photo of Monica Doyle (MTF, '11)

Monica Doyle, first year mathematics teacher at High Point Central High School, has been named Rookie Teacher of the Year for Guilford County.  She completed the MTF program in August, 2012. See the full details on the Guilford County Schools website.  

Elizabeth Ammons, Julia Magee and Bonnie Walker Receive 2013 Memory Scholarship

Thumbnail image of the three recipients of the 2013 Memory Scholarship

Professor Jasper L. Memory, Jr., served Wake Forest University from 1929 until 1971, completing his career as Chairman of the Department of Education.   To honor Professor Memory and to further the cause of education, his family and friends created a scholarship fund. Scholarships are awarded each year to Junior students in the Education Department […]

Two Education Alumns Win Teacher of the Year Awards

Two alums of the Graduate Teacher Education program class of 2008 have been named Teachers of the Year. Lauren Brooks is a math teacher at Enloe High School in Raleigh,  NC.  She was recently named Teacher of the Year for Wake County. Heather Bulpett Wilson is a Social Studies Teacher at Cox Mill High School […]

Laura Bilton and Jon Williams Receive 2012 Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award

The Wake Forest University Education Department is proud to present the 2012 Marcellus Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award to Laura Bilton (Elementary Education) and Jon Williams (Secondary Education)! Laura Bilton is a second grade teacher at Old Town Elementary School in Winston-Salem. She graduated from Wake Forest in 2001 with a degree in business and […]

Amy Allen Receives Teacher of the Year Award from Cedar Ridge High School

Amy Allen (MTF, 2009) was awarded the Teacher of the Year award at Cedar Ridge High School, where she teaches Spanish, and is the chair of the World Languages department. Within four years of graduating from the Wake Forest Department of Education’s Master Teacher Fellows program, Amy has become the chair of the World Languages […]

Rebecca Koza, Nancy Davidson, Nick Corak, Julianna Sehy, Dino Mangano and Brian Wood Receive 2013 BTPDSF Grants

The purpose of the Beginning Teacher Professional Development Support Fund (BTPDSF) is to provide professional development grants to first year teachers who completed the Teacher Education Program at Wake Forest University. This year’s award recipients were: Rebecca Koza, Nancy Davidson, Nick Corak, Julianna Sehy, Dino Mangano, and Brian Wood.

Dr. Joseph Milner Honored at NCTE

Joe and Lucy Milner at NCTE in Las Vegas, November 2012

Dr. Joseph Milner was honored for his career contributions and service to the field of English education at a session entitled Eight Great American YA Novelists at the annual conference of the National Council of Teachers of English in Las Vegas, Nevada on Friday, November 16, 2012.  After serving as one of four keynote speakers […]