Giles Harris Winners 2008

The 31st Annual Christopher Giles and Lucille S. Harris Competitions in
Musical Performance was held February 23, 2008, on the campus of Wake
Forest University in Brendle Recital Hall.

>> Back to the Giles Harris Winners Archive page

Winners were as follows:

Joseph Pleasant and Marguerite Nutt Sloan Award
1st Place – Open Competition

Nicole Murray, soprano – senior – from Greensboro, NC
(student of Ms. Teresa Radomski)

Patricia Sloan Mize Award
2nd Place – Open Competition

Elizabeth F. Martin, violin – sophomore – from Winston-Salem, NC
(student of Dr. Jacqui Carrasco)

3rd Place – Open Competition

Rebecca Henriques, soprano – senior – from Key Biscayne, FL
(student of Ms. Teresa Radomski)

4th Place – Open Competition

Virginia Browne, soprano – junior – from Winston-Salem, NC
(student of Ms. Teresa Radomski)

Award for Outstanding Performance by a Non-Music Major – Open Competition

Emily Sigler, flute – senior – from Pittsford, NY
(student of Ms. Kathryn Levy)

The Sinal Prize
1st Place – Piano Competition

Evelyn Eisele – senior – from Denver, CO
(student of Dr. Louis Goldstein)

The Elvy Prize
2nd Place – Piano Competition

Jason Paquette – senior – from Concord, NH
(student of Dr. Louis Goldstein)

The Ward Virts Prize for Pianistic Expressiveness

Tommy Hough – sophomore – from Atlanta, GA
(student of Dr. Peter Kairoff )


All photography by Bill Ray.