Corinne Sugino: Carl Moses Award

The 2017 Carl Moses Award for Excellence in Research award recipient is Corinne Sugino for her paper entitled “A Not-So-Common Enemy: Anti-blackness and the Dynamics of the 2016 Peter Liang Protests” from Michaelle Browers’ seminar. Corinne will be attending the University of Pittsburgh for graduate school working towards her PhD in Communication while coaching college debate.

Ben Helms: Carl Moses Award

Ben-HelmsBen Helms is the 2016 Carl Moses Excellence in Research Award recipient for his paper “When Domestic and Supranational Politics Collide”. After graduation Ben will attend the University of Virginia to pursue a PhD in political science, with a focus on international politics and South Asia.

Emma Northcott and Rachel Brown: Carl Moses Award


Emma Northcott won the Carl Moses Excellence in Research Award for her senior paper “Afro-American Ethnic Development in Latin America: A Transnational Evaluation of Citizenship.” She will next be pursuing a Master of Science in Public Policy and Management at Carnegie Mellon University.

Rachel-Brown-CarlMosesAwardRachel Brown has been selected as the “Honorable Mention” for the Carl Moses Excellence in Research Award for her senior paper “Basel III and Financial Inclusion.” Rachel will present her paper at the European Conference on Microfinance in Geneva, Switzerland in June 2015. She will join Ernst & Young LLP Financial Services Office Business Advisor Program in Charlotte, NC in September 2015.



Bridger Mahlum: Carl Moses Award

award-pic2Bridger Mahlum won the Carl Moses Excellence in Research Award for his senior paper  ​”Redistricting and Competitive Elections: A Comparative Case Study.” He will be heading to Alaska in June as an campaign consultant for the U. S. Senate Election ​in that state​. While there, Bridger thought he would check into the rumor about there being “Gold in them thar hills….”


Megan Huber: Carl Moses Award

The Carl Moses Excellence in Research Award went to Megan Huber for her paper “Betrayal of the Innocents:  An Examination of Children and Peacekeeping.” The Carl Moses Award was given for the first time in 2010. Megan was awarded a Fulbright scholarship and will teach English in Malaysia in 2010-11.