The award recognizes a faculty member in the College in the early part of his or her career. The award was established in 1971 and renamed in 1986 in recognition of the generosity of the late Wilbur Doyle who endowed the prize to honor his philosophy professor, A.C. Reid. The award is funded by the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences.

Nomination guidelines:

  • The Award will be given to an outstanding faculty member who is either at the rank of Assistant Professor or who has been an Associate Professor no longer than four years. 
  • The Award will be given for any kind of significant research, creative activity, or scholarly activity substantially completed while at Wake Forest. Nominations of candidates in the arts/humanities are especially encouraged. 
  • Nominations for the Award are to come from department chairpersons; more than one nomination will be accepted from a given department. 
  • The nomination must include a letter outlining the significance of the research and the candidate’s curriculum vitae. In support of the nomination, evidence of the research (in the form of a reprint, book, painting, score, etc.) should also be included. Please include evidence to support faculty members’ candidacy from external sources or reviewers. Repeated nominations are encouraged. 
  • All nominations must be electronic and should be sent to Debbie Deheck by the established deadline. 

The 2023 winners of the Award for Excellence in Research

Dr. Lucy Alford
Assistant Professor of English

Dr. Regina Joice Cordy
Assistant Professor of Biology

Dr. Mark Curtis
Associate Professor of Economics

Award for Excellence in Research Winners

Academic YearWinnerDepartment
2022-2023Lucy AlfordEnglish
Regina Joice CordyBiology
Mark CurtisEconomics
2021-2022Elizabeth Clendinning Music
Staci HeplerMathematics & Statistics
Saami YazdaniEngineering
2020-2021Grey BallardComputer Science
2019-2020Kristen BeaversHealth and Exercise Science
Kristina GuptaWomen's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
2018-2019Michael GrossEngineering
Morna O’NeillArt
2017-2018Eranda JayawickremePsychology
2016-2017Amanda JonesChemistry
2015-2016Jeffrey KatulaHealth and Exercise Science
2014-2015Jennifer ErwayMathematics
Oana JurchescuPhysics
2013-2014Timo ThonhauserPhysics
2012-2013Patricia Dos SantosChemistry
2011-2012R. Michael FurrPsychology
2010-2011Michaelle BrowersPolitical Science
Fred SalsburyPhysics
2009-2010Akbar SalamChemistry
2008-2009Martin GutholdPhysics
Christian MillerPhilosophy
2007-2008Miles SilmanBiology
2006-2007Kenneth BerenhautMathematics
John DinanPolitical Science
2005-2006Greg CookPhysics
2004-2005Ulrich BierbachChemistry
2003-2004Clifford ZeylBiology
2002-2003Richard MandervilleChemistry
2001-2002Daniel Kim-ShapiroPhysics
Eric WilsonEnglish
2000-2001Kathleen KronBiology
James SchirilloPsychology
1999-2000S. Bruce KingChemistry
1998-1999Peter BrubakerHealth and Exercise Science
1997-1998David J. AndersonBiology
Paul AndersonPhysics
1996-1997Gloria MudayBiology
1995-1996Terry BlumenthalPsychology
1994-1995Dale DagenbachPsychology
1993-1994Allin F. CottrellEconomics
1992-1993James C. FishbeinChemistry
1991-1992Dilip K. KondepudiChemistry
Philip F. KuberskiEnglish
1990-1991Mark E. WelkerChemistry
Byron R. WellsRomance Languages
1989-1990Mark R. LearyPsychology
1988-1989Huw M.L. DaviesChemistry
Gillian R. OveringEnglish
1987-1988Robert A. BrowneBiology
James S. HansEnglish
Willie Pearson Jr.Sociology
1986-1987Paul H.D. KaplanArt
1985-1986Deborah L. BestPsychology
W. Jack RejeskiHealth & Sport Science