In 1988, the Wake Forest Alumni Council established a faculty prize that recognizes the community service of a respected teacher/scholar from the College or the School of Business. Community service will be defined as service to either the greater community or the University community, or a combination of the two. In the summer of 1993, the award was named in memory of Don Schoonmaker (’60), Professor of Politics and the 1993 recipient of the faculty prize for community service.

A committee composed of faculty, administrators, and alumni selects the recipient through a nomination process.

Nomination guidelines:

Please include specific information about how your nominee has served the Wake Forest community and/or the community at large. You may re-nominate any candidate from a previous year whom you would like to have considered again by simply updating your letter.

Nominations should include:

  • A letter of nomination (maximum 2 pages)
  • Details on community service, including the amount of involvement, actions taken, achievements, and impact on the community

The 2023 winner of the Donald O. Schoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service

Dr. Paul Pauca
Professor of Computer Science

The Donald O. Schoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service Winners

Academic YearWinnerDepartment
2022-2023Paul PaucaComputer Science
2020-2021Alessandra Von BurgCommunication
2019-2020Alan BrownEducation
2018-2019Melissa JenkinsEnglish
2017-2018Simone M. CaronHistory
2016-2017Christina SorianoDance
2015-2016David LevyMusic
2014- 2015Mary DaltonCommunication
2013-2014Ulrike WiethausAmerican Ethnic Studies
2012-2013Anne BoyleEnglish
2011-2012Herman EureBiology
2010-2011Jack FleerPolitics
2009-2010Susan BorwickMusic
2008-2009Paul RibislHealth and Exercise
2007-2008Ellen KirkmanMathematics
2006-2007Katy HarrigerPolitics
2005-2006Stephen BoydReligion
2004-2005Charlie RichmanPsychology
2003-2004Tom TaylorAccountancy
2002-2003Andrew EttinEnglish
2001-2002Richard SearsPolitical Science
2000-2001Willie PearsonSociology
1999-2000Peter WeiglBiology
1998-1999John LitcherEducation
1997-1998Howell SmithHistory
1996-1997Donald FreyEconomics
1995-1996Richard BarnettHistory
1994-1995Deborah L. BestPsychology
1993-1994Donald L. SchoonmakerPolitics
1992-1993John EarleSociology
1991-1992Marcellus WaddillMathematics
1990-1991J. Edwin HendricksHistory
1989-1990Ivey GentryMathematics