This award is for a faculty member in the Wake Forest College who is still in the early part of their career. The award was established in 1971 and renamed in 1986 in recognition of the generosity of the late Wilbur Doyle (’48), who endowed the prize to honor his philosophy professor, A.C. Reid. The Reid-Doyle Prize is also supported by the Alumni Council and the Alumni Association. Recipients are announced at the Faculty Meeting in May.

Nomination guidelines:

Wake Forest College Junior Faculty Members who hold the rank of Assistant Professor or who were promoted from Assistant to Associate Professor in the last academic year are eligible for this prestigious award. These faculty members must be tenure strain (this includes Professors of the Practice).

Nominations for the Reid Doyle Teaching Award are submitted by chairs, program directors, or senior faculty (with chair approval) from within the nominee’s department or program. Chairs should consult the senior faculty in their departments to confer about nominations. Nominations are limited to one nominee per department per round.

In one document with clear delineations, nominations should include:

  • A letter written or endorsed by the chair (maximum 3 pages)
  • Nominee’s CV
  • A brief description of how teaching is evaluated in the department
  • Excerpted highlights from narrative comments from student evaluations (no more than 2 pages)
  • Evidence that peer or chair evaluation of teaching materials (syllabi, assignments, quizzes, exams, etc.) confirms that course requirements are suitably demanding and grading is sufficiently rigorous
  • Quantitative summaries of student evaluations, if available

Nominations are submitted to Sarah Frederick ( in the Office of the Dean of the College.

A committee composed of all previous award winners and representatives from the Office of the Dean of the College reviews the nominations and makes a selection.

The 2023 winner of the Award for the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Francisco Gallegos
Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Nominations Deadline

The 2023-2024 award’s nomination deadline is Wednesday, October 18, 2023.

The Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching Winners

Academic YearWinnerDepartment
2022-2023Francisco GallegosPhilosophy
2021-2022Qiaona YuEast Asian Languages & Cultures
2020-2021Andrius GalisankaPolitics and International Affairs
2019-2020Stephanie KoscakHistory
2018-2019Robert J. ErhardtMathematics
2017-2018E. J. MasicampoPsychology
2016-2017Michael SloanClassics
2015-2016Tina Boyer German
2014-2015Timo ThonhauserPhysics
2013-2014Jennifer Beth ErwayMathematics
2012-2013Oana JurchescuPhysics
2011-2012Wayne PrattPsychology
2010-2011Jessica RichardEnglish
2009-2010Erik JohnsonBiology
2008-2009Christian MillerPhilosophy
2007-2008Paul ThackerAnthropology
2006-2007Errin FulpComputer Science
2005-2006Brook M. DavisTheatre
2004-2005Martin GutholdPhysics
2003-2004Hugh HowardsMathematics
2002-2003Peter SiavelisPolitics
2001-2002Christa ColyerChemistry
2000-2001Nina Maria LucasDance
1999-2000Gordon McCrayCalloway School of Business and Accountancy
1998-1999Jeffrey Lerner History
1997-1998Michele WareEnglish
1996-1997Helga WelshPolitics
1995-1996James PowellClassical Languages
1994-1995Simone M. Caron History
1993-1994Page H. LaughlinArt
1992-1993Claudia ThomasEnglish
1991-1992Alton B. PollardReligion
1990-1991Antonio VittiRomance Languages
1989-1990Stephen B. BoydReligion
1988-1989Ann BoyleEnglish
1987-1988Katy HarrigerPolitics
1986-1987Susan P. McCaffrayHistory
Barry G. MaineEnglish
1985-1986Carole L. Browne Biology
Saguiv HadariPolitics
1984-1985Catherine T. HarrisSociology
1983-1984Deborah L. BestPsychology
1982-1983Susan C. JackelsChemistry
James DoddingTheatre
1981-1982Rick MatthewsPhysics
1980-1981David S. WeaverAnthropology
1979-1980Elmer K. HayashiMathematics
1978-1979Ralph C. Wood Jr.Religion
1977-1978Alan J. WilliamsHistory
1976-1977Ronald L. BlankespoorChemistry
1975-1976William C. Kerr Physics
Fred L. HortonReligion
1974-1975Roger A. HegstromChemistry
1973-1974Patricia JohanssonEnglish
1972-1973James P. BarefieldHistory
1971-1972John C. Moorhouse Economics
Peter D. WeiglBiology
1970-1971David K. Evans Anthropology
Jon M. Reinhardt Politics