College Board of Visitors Faculty Leadership Award

The College Board of Visitors sponsors an annual award to recognize outstanding academic leadership by faculty of the Undergraduate College.  Each year this award will recognize a faculty member who embraces this philosophy of academic leadership and community-building, who has a proven track record of engaging their academic department and/or academic colleagues in achieving a vision that includes but extends well beyond their own department by pursuing opportunities for collaboration and innovation.  These efforts will have significantly advanced the goals of Wake Forest College, as embodied in our liberal arts tradition.

picture of Sr. James Ford of Department for the Study of Religion

Jay Ford
Professor of Religion
2019 CBOV Faculty Leadership Award Winner

 Hubert McNeill Poteat Lecture

Named in honor of Hubert McNeill Poteat, who taught at Wake Forest University from 1911 to 1956 and was widely known and respected as a Latin scholar, this lecture series is designed to recognize and celebrate the many achievements of our faculty in research, scholarly, and creative work.  The annual lectures are held each spring and are alternately sponsored by the Office of the Dean of the College and the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences.

Ellen Miller

Ellen Miller
Professor of Physical Anthropology
2019 Hubert McNeill Poteat Lecturer

The Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Wake Forest College Junior Faculty Members who hold the rank of Assistant Professor or who were promoted from Assistant to Associate Professor in the last academic year are eligible for this prestigious award.

Nominations for the Reid-Doyle Teaching Award are submitted by chairs, program directors, or senior faculty (with chair approval) from within the nominee’s department or program. Chairs should consult the senior faculty in their departments to confer about nominations. Nominations are limited to one nominee per department per round. Nominations should include:

  • A letter written or endorsed by the chair (maximum 3 pages);
  • Nominee’s CV;
  • A brief description of how teaching is evaluated in the department;
  • Excerpted highlights from narrative comments from student evaluations (no more than 2 pages);
  • Evidence that peer or chair evaluation of teaching materials (syllabi, assignments, quizzes, exams, etc.) confirms that course requirements are suitably demanding and grading is sufficiently rigorous;
  • Quantitative summaries of student evaluations, if available.

Nominations are submitted to the Senior Associate Dean of Faculty. A committee comprised of all previous award winners and representatives from the Office of the Dean of the College reviews the nominations and makes a selection. Recipients are announced at Founders’ Day Convocation.

Robert Erhardt
Associate Professor of Statistics
winner of the 2018-2019 Reid-Doyle Prize

The Jon Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching

Senior Faculty Teaching Award. Nominations are solicited annually from alumni of the class that graduated at least 10 years or more prior to the year of the award. Nomination letters are received by the Associate Dean for Research, Scholarship, and Creativity. A committee comprised of all previous award winners and representatives from the Office of the Dean of the College reviews the nominations and makes a selection. Recipients are announced at Founders’ Day Convocation.

Peter Siavelis
Department Chair and Professor of Politics and International Studies, Director of the Southern Cone Study Abroad Program, and Director of the Latin American and Latino Studies Program
winner of the 2018-2019 Jon Reinhardt Award
URECA Award for Excellence in Mentorship in Research and Creative Work

Errin Fulp                  Professor of Computer Science and winner of the 2018-19 URECA Award for Mentored Scholarship in the Sciences

The award recognizes those faculty who share their passion for scholarship and creative activities, and who encourage and inspire their students to work closely with them.  Each year URECA presents two awards: one to a faculty member in the arts and humanities and another to a faculty member in the sciences or social sciences.  Faculty and students are invited to nominate faculty for this award. Nominations are accepted in the fall semester, and the awards are presented at Founders’ Day Convocation.


Lisa Blee
Professor of History      and winner of the        2018-19 URECA Award for Mentored Scholarship in the Humanities